CHVRCHES Announce New Album "Every Eye Open"


Scottish synth-pop trio, CHVRCHES, have announced their follow up to 2013’s debut, ‘The Bones of what You Believe’.


CHVRCHES second LP,  Every Eye Open, is slated for a September release and the Glasgow natives will drop the first single later today on Sirius XMU. Leave A Trace is a gritty break-up track, and will be available to stream on July 17.  Lead singer Lauren Mayberry told Pitchfork that it’s “the nastiest, snidest tune” on the new album.

She tells Pitchfork:

Leave A Trace is the middle finger mic-drop. It’s about that point where you’re like, ‘There’s no point having this conversation anyways: There will be no resolve, I won’t feel better about it, you won’t feel better about it, no outcome from this will actually change my reality.’ It makes me feel better to write about that — I’ve done something constructive with it. You don’t put that on other people, you put that into what you do. That’s always the way I’ve written lyrics. My ex-partners are not friends with me, but I’m OK with that.”


The band are currently on tour, doing the festival circuit. The play Electric Picnic in Stradbally on September 4, 2015.

Check out the album artwork and tracklist below:


01 “Never Ending Circles”
02 “Leave A Trace”
03 “Keep You on My Side”
04 “Make Them Gold”
05 “Clearest Blue”
06 “High Enough To Carry You Over”
07 “Empty Threat”
08 “Down Side Of Me”
09 “Playing Dead”
10 “Bury It”
11 “Afterglow”
12 “Get Away”
13 “Follow You”
14 “Bow Down”

Read our 2014 interview with CHVRCHES Lauren Mayberry. 

© 2015 GCN (Gay Community News). All rights reserved.

1 comments. Please sign in to comment.