GALAS 2020 shortlist announced for awards honouring the LGBT+ community

The GALAS celebrate those who have made outstanding contributions to the LGBT+ community in Ireland and abroad.

A huge group of people dressed for a social event hold up GALAS awards

Established by the NXF (National LGBT Federation) to recognise individuals, companies and organisations for their outstanding work and contributions to the LGBT+ community, the GALAS will make a triumphant return in 2020. Today, we can share those in the running for an award as the shortlists have been announced.

Steve Jacques, NXF Board Director and Nominations Coordinator, stated, “This year we received over 1400 nominations from members of the public. Our highest number since the GALAS LGBT+ Awards was launched in 2009. It’s been an absolute delight to read all the nomination reasons and they all highlight the contribution that individuals, organisations, events and workplaces make to and for the LGBT+ community.

“This year our partner shortlisting organisations clearly had a tough job identifying potential award recipients from the long-list, using the shortlisting criteria and we thank them for their diligence. The GALAS LGBT+ Awards is a wonderful way to say thank you and we are always in awe of how so many get behind this opportunity to celebrate and show appreciation.

“The shortlist reflects those who have made an outstanding contribution and created change either visibly or behind the scenes. They have shown leadership and championed change in Ireland or abroad. They have entertained us or been there when we might have needed them most. They have stood by us when we need ‘another’ to be our voice and created safe and inclusive workplaces for us. We congratulate all of them!”

The longlists for the awards were made up by public nominations, those lists were then distributed to LGBT+ organisations throughout Ireland who selected nominees to make it to the shortlist.

Two of the award categories will be decided by public vote – they are Public Figure and Arts and Entertainment.

Here are the shortlists for each category:

GALAS 2020 LGBT+ Community Awards

Community Organisation of the Year – paid staff

  • Gay Project
  • Outhouse
  • Shout Out
  • UP Cork Youth Group

Community Organisation of the Year – volunteer staff

  • ACT UP
  • Dublin Lesbian Line
  • Dublin Trans Peer Support Group
  • Equality For Children

Volunteer of the Year

  • Robbie Lawlor
  • Dr Aintzane Legarreta Mentxaka (‘Maken’)
  • Maureen Looney – Running Amach
  • Will St Leger – ACT UP

Event of the Year

  • Belfast Pride 2019
  • Call It Out Campaign Event
  • Different Families, Same Love
  • Dublin Pride 2019

LGBT+ Young Trailblazer

  • Seamus Byrne
  • Alannah Murray
  • Brandon O’Connor
  • Esther Young

LGBT+ Digital Change-Maker

  • Alexis Transition – Alexis Riva
  • The Big Gay Bucket List
  • Call It Out Digital Campaign
  • Cork LGBT Digital Archive – Orla Egan

Sports Award

  • Dublin Front Runners
  • Emerald Warriors
  • David Gough
  • Valerie Mulcahy

Noel Walsh HIV Activism

  • ACT UP
  • HIV Ireland
  • Robbie Lawlor
  • Andrew Leavitt

LGBT+ Champions Awards

LGBT+ Ally

  • Educate Together
  • Senator Ged Nash
  • Siobhan O’Dea – GMHS
  • Holly Shortall

Outstanding Company

  • Accenture
  • Arthur Cox Solicitors
  • Dell Technologies
  • Fostering First Ireland

LGBT+ Role Model

  • Eddie McGuinness
  • Sara R Phillips
  • Adam Shanley
  • Ailbhe Smyth

LGBT+ Employee Resource Group

  • AIB Pride Matters
  • Bank of Ireland Pride Committee
  • Irish Life Pride Committee
  • Outlaw

Outstanding Achievement Awards

International Activist

  • Nayyab Ali – Pakistan
  • Gilmara Cunha – Brazil
  • Zhanar Sekerbayeva – Kazakhstan
  • Syinat Sultanalieve – Kyrgyzstan

Two awards – Person of the Year and Lifetime Achievement will be announced on the night.

The awards which will be decided by public vote are:

LGBT+ Public Figure

  • Senator Jerry Buttimer
  • Councillor Owen Hanley
  • Jack Shaun Murphy
  • Senator Fintan Warfield
  • Minister Katherine Zappone

Arts and Entertainment

  • Acting Out – The Decriminalisation Monologues
  • LINC Drama Group
  • DJ Gerry Moore
  • Jack Shaun Murphy
  • Rodrigo Ternevoy

To pick your winner visit the GALAS 2020 website here.

The GALAS 2020 award ceremony will take place on February 8 at the Mansion House, Dublin. Tickets for the event can be purchased here.

Congratulations to all those who were nominated and the very best of luck on the night!

© 2020 GCN (Gay Community News). All rights reserved.

Support GCN

GCN has been a vital, free-of-charge information service for Ireland’s LGBTQ+ community since 1988.

During this global COVID pandemic, we like many other organisations have been impacted greatly in the way we can do business and produce. This means a temporary pause to our print publication and live events and so now more than ever we need your help to continue providing this community resource digitally.

GCN is a registered charity with a not-for-profit business model and we need your support. If you value having an independent LGBTQ+ media in Ireland, you can help from as little as €1.99 per month. Support Ireland’s free, independent LGBTQ+ media.

0 comments. Please sign in to comment.