GALAS 2017 Shortlists Announced

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar and Minister Katherine Zappone are among those shortlisted for The GALAS 2017, Ireland’s eighth annual LGBT+ Awards

Leo Varadkar who will be attending Dublin Pride 2017 today

After a record number of nominations from the public, GCN and the National LGBT Federation (NXF) have announced the shortlists for the GALAS 2017, which take place at Dublin’s Mansion House on Saturday, October 21.

The GALAS ceremony will be hosted by 2fm DJ, Jenny Greene and fellow RTÉ presenter Stephen Byrne, and will LGBT+ people and organisations for their contributions to Irish society. The awards are also to recognise LGBT allies, employers, politicians and others who are committed to advancing equality and social acceptance for LGBT+ people in Ireland.

Both Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar and Minister for Children, Katherine Zappone have been shortlisted for the Political Figure of the Year award, while GAA referee David Gough has been shortlisted for the annual Sports Award.

This year also promises to be a celebration of the Prides, as Dublin Pride, Cork Pride and Belfast Pride all nominated together the Event of the Year category.

The critically acclaimed films A Date for Mad Mary, Handsome Devil and The 34th have been nomiated in the Film and TV category, while the enormously successful RIOT theatre production has bee nominated for an Arts award. Two stand-out Irish Arts festivals, GAZE Dublin International LGBT Film Festival and the Dublin Fringe Festival also get recognised in the shortlists.

Commenting on the forthcoming ceremony, Editor of GCN Brian Finnegan said, “We voted for marriage equality in 2015, gained an openly gay Taoiseach this year, and have proud LGBT+ people in the media like Jenny Greene and Stephen Byrne, but Ireland remains a place where there is much work to be done for the acceptance, equality and safety of LGBT+ people. The GALAS are here to honour the people and organisations, both within the LGBT+ community and without, working towards a fully accepting society and a better Ireland for all.”

Shortlisting was completed by LGBT+ organisations across the country, while the winners on the night will be chosen by NXF.

Tickets to the GALAS 2017 are available here. Find out more about The GALAS here.


The full list of nominations:

Community Organisation of the Year (Paid staff):

  • BeLonGTo
  • LiNC
  • The Outhouse
  • Wexford LGBT+ FDYS


Community Organisation of the Year (Voluntary staff)

  • Dublin Bears
  • Dublin Lesbian Line
  • Dublin Transgender Peer Support Group
  • LOOK (Loving Our Out Kids)

Volunteer of the Year

  • Sharon Nolan
  • Eddie McGuinness
  • Tomas Heneghan
  • Noleen Cummins

Employer of the Year

  • Accenture
  • Dublin City Council
  • Dublin Bus
  • Google Ireland

LGBT Student Award

  • Out in UL
  • GiG Soc (NUI Galway)
  • DCU LGBTA Society
  • Siona Cahill, USI

Sports Award

  • Cameron Keighron
  • Cork Rebels FC
  • David Gough
  • Wet & Wild Sports Club

Online Award

  • Alexis’ Trans-ition
  • GMHS Sexual Health App Campaign
  • IndividualiTy Trans Visibility Campaign
  • Jamie & Chloe O’Herlihy

LGBT Ally of the Year

  • Cork City LGBT Inter-Agency Group
  • Gerard Raymond Roe, BeLonGTo
  • Michelle Cullen, Accenture
  • Richard Carson, ACET

Event of the Year

  • Belfast Pride
  • Dublin Pride
  • Cork Pride
  • GAZE 25th Film Festival

Journalist of the Year

  • Una Mullally
  • Jason Kennedy
  • Peter McGuire
  • Lyra McKee

Political Figure of the Year

  • Katherine Zappone TD
  • Joan Burton TD
  • Senator Fintan Warfield
  • An Taoiseach Leo Varadkar

Arts & Literature Award

  • RIOT, Thisispopbaby
  • The Ref & Paradise, Acting Out
  • Kris Nelson, Dublin Fringe Festival
  • Toby Buckley, Demand Change

TV & Film Award

  • The 34th, Linda Cullen
  • Handsome Devil, John Butler
  • Fair City
  • A Date for Mad Mary, Darren Thornton

Noel Walsh HIV Activism Award

  • Ian Fahey
  • Robbie Lawlor
  • KnowNow
  • ACT UP Dublin

Entertainer of the Year

  • Graham J
  • Xnthony
  • Davina Devine
  • Markus Feehily

© 2017 GCN (Gay Community News). All rights reserved.

0 comments. Please sign in to comment.