GALAs 2015: The Nominees Are...


The GALAs 2015 are fast approaching and finally we have our nominees in 16 different categories.


Six years ago, the GALAs were set up to honour politicians, employers and others who are committed to advancing equality and social acceptance for LGBT people in Ireland.

This year at the glittering ceremony, there will be 16 GALAS awarded, including the International Award, which gives a bursary of €2,000 to person fighting for LGBT rights in countries that seriously discriminate against LGBTs.

This year, the public also have the chance to vote for who you think should win Absolut™ Entertainment Personality of the Year vote online now.


The GALAs 2015 take place at The Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin on March 6.


Buy tickets online. 


And the nominees are…


Community Organisation

BeLonG  To

Dundalk Outcomers




Voluntary Organisation (Unpaid Staff)




Gay Switchboard Ireland



Sponsored by:




Karl Hayden

Laura Louise Condell (Dublin Lesbian Line)

Gráinne Healy (Marriage Equality)

Mike Kelly (Outhouse)

Sam Blanckensee (TENI)



Sponsored by:


GAZE International LGBT Film Festival

Various Voices Festival

The Big Gay Sing

LGBT Helpline ‘Heart2Heart’ Campaign



Sponsored by:




Dublin Bus

Brother Hubbard



LGBT Student Soc

Out in UL

Q Soc, Trinity


Itsa* (Irish Trans* Students Alliance)



Pink Ladies Hockey Club

Nikki Symmons

Out and About Hiking

Donal Óg Cusack


Social Media/Website

Sponsored by:


Danny Pio Murphy / Spirituality Ireland

Ivan Fahy

‘Yes Equality’ Campaign

LGBT Helpline


Journalist (TV, Radio, Print)

Cat Steel

Derek Mooney

Aengus MacGrianna RTE

Una Mullally


Political Figure

Sponsored by:


Mayor Fintan Warfield (South Dublin)

Aodhán Ó Riordáin (Minister of State for
New Communities, Culture and Equality)

Jan O’Sullivan (Minister for Education and Skills)

Dominic Hannigan TD


Irish TV/Film

Sponsored by:

gaze 2014 logo ver1.eps

Oliver Callan

Anna Rogers

My Transgender Journey (TV3 – Irish Lives)

Andrew Scott


Irish Arts/Literature

Sponsored by:


Una Mulally for In The Name of Love

Jessie Kirby for BRB

John Boyne for A History of Loneliness

Sonya Kelly for How To Keep an Alien


Noel Walsh HIV Activist

Mick Quinlan

Andrew Leavitt

Sean Frayne


International Award

Sponsored by:


ICCL   Frontline


Vladimir Simonko (Lithuania)

Nominated by NXF

Vladimir is active with the Lithuanian organisation ‘For LGBT Equality, Against Homophobia’. Highlighting the serious anti-LGBT abuses within the EU, Vladimir has been central in opposing and focusing attention on State homophobia in Lithuania, including the passage of a law that restricts positive portrayals of homosexuality in media (similar to the Russian law).


Caleb Orozco (Belize)

Nominated by Amnesty International

Caleb Orozco work on LGBTI rights in Belize, a country where the laws and culture make such work exceptionally difficult and often dangerous. He is working towards a change in the law, creating international connections and highlighting the plight of the LGBTI community in Belize with major and respected international partners, all the while under considerable danger himself. His courage and tenacity in the teeth of organised and well-funded opposition is outstanding.


Diane Marie Rodriguez Zambrano (Equador)

Nominated by Front Line Defenders

Diane is the founder and president of the Asociación Silueta X, a grassroots organisation working for the rights of LGBTI people in Ecuador, in particular young transgender and intersex persons, as well as HIV/AIDS prevention. In recent years Ecuador has taken major steps towards achieving equality for LGBTI people, including recognition of same sex unions. However, even though the President of Ecuador has paid tribute to her courage as an activist, Diane’s life remains in danger.


The winner of the International Award will receive a bursary of €2,000 to further their work on the front lines of LGBT rights.




© 2015 GCN (Gay Community News). All rights reserved.

0 comments. Please sign in to comment.