Leading Trans Activists To Receive Prestigious Irish Award

Dr Lydia Foy

Trinity Law Society will present the Trinity Praeses Elit Award to three key trans activists this month.


The recipients of the award are Dr Lydia Foy (pictured), whose struggle for legal recognition of her gender acted as the catalyst for the Gender Recognition Act 2015; Broden Giambrone, current head of the Transgender Equality Network Ireland; and Mara Keisling, founding director of the National Center for Transgender Equality based in Washington DC. All three have brought issues facing the transgender community into the global spotlight.

The Trinity Praeses Elit Award was founded by Mary Robinson, former auditor of the Law Society and later President of Ireland and UN High Commissioner. It is awarded by Trinity College Law Society to those who have advanced discourse in their line of work, and who have been a source of inspiration for young people everywhere. Recent recipients include Cherie Blair, Louise Arbour, Navi Pillay, and Lord Neuburger, President of the UK Supreme Court.

Before the presentation of the awards, there will be a panel discussion with the three individuals a panel discussion composed of three individuals will take place, entitled Ireland in Transition.

The event takes place in the Graduate Memorial Building in Trinity College on Monday, October 12 at 2pm.

© 2015 GCN (Gay Community News). All rights reserved.

0 comments. Please sign in to comment.